• Summit Bike Share
    Ride. Return. Repeat.

The fun and free way to explore Summit County!


Summit Bike Share is Summit County’s free bicycle share system, with 40 bikes available at nine stations across Summit County. Summit Bike Share stations are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Akron and downtown Barberton, all within a short distance to shops, restaurants, businesses, and the Ohio & Erie Canal Towpath Trail. Operated by the Ohio & Erie Canalway Coalition, Summit Bike Share provides an accessible, eco-friendly, and healthy method of transportation for residents and visitors of Summit County.


Ride. Return. Repeat.

How It Works


Visit a Summit Bike Share station during the listed hours of operation. Stop inside the facility to speak with a front desk staff member to request a bike.

All Summit Bike Share locations will require a valid driver’s license to use a bike.



Explore the area by bicycle for up to three hours. Take a look at our explore page for maps and resources!



Finish your ride by returning your bike to the same station where you began. Return the bike key and helmet to the front desk staff member inside the facility at the bike share station and receive your driver’s license.